Season's greeting! | Skip to main content

Season's greeting!

Season's greeting!

Erick Morillo launches 'Subliminal Invasion' double CD

While Robbie William’s fame and fortune meant he really did start believing in UFOs (putting him in the same bracket as such enquiring minds as Danny Dyer), for Erick Morillo this season’s alien related theme of ‘Subliminal Invasion’ is really just a handy metaphor to signify losing yourself in the music at his weekly Wednesday nights at Pacha. That and having the club’s dancers dress up as space vixens.

This week sees the release of a double CD, also called ‘Subliminal Invasion’, representing the sound of the club both warm-up, with more vocals for the ladies, and peak time, with added squeak for the boys. As well as being mixed in Morillo’s non-stop party style, it also includes five exclusives including two from new supergroup In the Screen, featuring Morillo alongside long-time compadres Harry Romero & Jose Nunez, with vocals provided by Human Life’s Rachael Starr and ex-pat crooner Craig David.

We caught up with Erick to find out more…

Your theme at Pacha this year is Subliminal Invasion, which we believe is Space themed. Can you elaborate?
The idea behind Subliminal Invasion this year is, put simply, we wanted to invade peoples minds with our music, our dancers and our energy. It’s about creating an environment for people to come and let themselves go. So come and enjoy and get lost in the invasion.”

Who are some of the picks of this year’s line-up, both from those who’ve already played, and from who you have coming during the rest of the season?
The ones that really stand out are Eddie Thoneick, Chuckie from the Dirty Dutch & Harry Choo Choo Romero they always do a really good job.  I’m also really excited about having Danny Tenaglia come and play. It’s been a while since he’s played at Pacha, so this is quite special for me.”

Can you give us a run through of the mix you’ve done to promote the night? We hear there are a few exclusives including a Craig David collaboration.
The Subliminal Invasion CD is a snap shot of what I’m playing in the clubs today. The first CD is mainly funky house with some vocals. The second CD is a little more afterhours with a darker vibe. Hopefully a true representation of where I am musically right now.

“We’ve included five exclusives on the two CDS. The first is ‘We are the Night‘ by In the Screen which is a new group made up of myself, Harry Romero & Jose Nunez featuring vocals by Rachael Starr.  We also have ‘Fly Away’ featuring Craig David. This is a track by In the Screen Vs Rony Seikaly and something we’re really excited about.  Also a great track by Armand Pena called ‘Tonight’, then we have ‘Afterworld’ by Jose Nunez and also ‘Lasers’ by Lights Out.”

You’ve spoken about also wanting to get into acting alongside DJing and producing. How is that coming along? Is it something that you’re serious about?
For sure its something that I would love to get into, but at the moment there’s just so much going on musically I don’t have the time to follow it through. But yes I’m serious about it and would love to give it some more thought soon.”

Last year you told us you’d treated yourself to a new hot tub in your villa in Ibiza. What are you going to be splashing out on to celebrate your success this year?!
My Staff! They’ve been my rock and stand by me through the rough and the smooth. Most of my team have been with me for years. I’ll definitely get more kicks out of seeing them appreciated than a jacuzzi. Wow… I’m growing up!”

‘Subliminal Invasion’ is out on now on Subliminal Records


1. Erick Morillo & Eddie Thoneick ft. Shawnee Taylor ‘Stronger’ (Stronger Club Mix)
2. In The Screen feat. Rachael Starr ‘We Are The Night’ (Original)
3. Harry Choo Choo Romero & Erick Morillo ‘Pa Ra Ra (Shake)’ (Original)
4. Jason Herd & The Futuristic Polar Bears feat. Ollie James ‘Freakin’ (Original Mix)
5. The Partysquad & When Harry Met Sally feat. Caprice ‘For Your Love’ (Olav Basoski Remix)
6. Stephan Luke ‘Body Talk’ (Original)
7. Armand Pena feat. Kelly Davis ‘Tonight’ (Original)
8. Steve Smooth feat. Luvli ‘So High’
9. Third Party ‘Duel’
10. Rony Seikaly ‘Take Me Higher’ (Original)
11. Eddie Amador feat. D-Good ‘Spirituality’ (Original)
12. In The Screen vs Rony Seikaly feat. Craig David ‘Fly Away’ (Original)


1. Sunnery James & Ryan Marciano ‘Tribeca’ (Original)
2. Green Velvet ‘Flash’ (Nicky Romero Remix)
3. Frank Garcia ‘Need It’
4. So Called Scumbags ‘Punch’ (Original Mix)
5. Antranig ‘Won’t Stop Rocking’ (Original Mix)
6. Dave Spoon & TV Rock ‘Fiveg’ (Original)
7. Fedde Le Grand ‘Control Room’ (Original Club Mix)
8. Nicky Romero ‘Keyword’ (Original Mix)
9. Michael Woods ‘Dynamik’ (Original Mix)
10. Harry ‘Choo Choo’ Romero ‘Overdose’ (Original Mix)
11. A.C.N & Alexander Avilla ‘Acid Jack’ (Original Mix)
12. Jose Nunez ‘Afterworld’ (Original Mix)
13. Chuckie & Gregori Klosman ‘Mutfakta’ (Original Mix)
14. Lights Out ‘Lasers’ (Original)
15. DJ Dove ‘Break It Down’ (Harry ‘Choo Choo’ Romero Remix)