LEFTFIELD RETURN TO THE FRAY | DJMagAdmin.com Skip to main content



Top ‘90s dance act to release first material in 16 years

Leftfield, one of the biggest dance acts of the 1990s, are back!

The London-based act, originally made up of Paul Daley and Neil Barnes, have just announced details of a new album and a short UK tour. They will also be playing some festivals such as Creamfields and Rockness this summer.

Leftfield grew out of the early ‘90s progressive house scene in London, and when they dropped their ‘Leftism’ album in 1993 it was instantly dubbed a classic. DJ Mag named it the best dance album of all time in the mid-noughties.

Leftfield took a while to follow up their masterpiece, but when ‘Rhythm & Stealth’ arrived it didn’t disappoint. They split when Daley and Barnes allegedly couldn’t get on with each other any more, with Neil keeping the Leftfield name for the long term – and now Leftfield are back!

An album, ‘Alternative Light Source’, is set for release in June on Infectious, with a single ‘Universal Everything’ preceding it. The technoid chugger seems to mark a real return to form. Hear it here:

Collaborators on the album include TV On The Radio's Tunde Adebimpe and Nottingham's Sleaford Mods. The album’s tracklisting is as follows:

01. ‘Bad Radio

02. ‘Universal Everything

03. ‘Bilocation

04. ‘Head And Shoulders

05. ‘Dark Matters’

06. ‘Little Fish

07. ‘Storms End’

08. ‘Alternative Light Source

09. ‘Shaker Obsession

10. ‘Levitate For You’


Leftfield are also embarking on some live UK dates. They play the following:

June 11th – O2 Academy, Bristol

June 12th – The Forum, London

June 18th – Albert Hall, Manchester

June 19th – Glasgow Barrowlands

There are also some festival dates in the pipeline. Stay tuned to DJMag.com for more details when we have them.

Pre-order the album here